Uncategorized

Today, I Took A Step Outside My Comfort Zone.

 

unnamed

I rarely step out of my comfort zone. I am a creature of habit and always do things the same. In addition to this, I get shy and awkward really quickly when I am put in a different situation. The combination is a no-no.

So what happened earlier today was me being SO out of my comfort zone. I went to the grocery store earlier this evening to pick up a couple of things. After I got my things, I decided to head into the chips aisle. I had been craving my favourite chips, Ms Vicki’s Jalapeño chips and when in the store, I decided that I would yield to this craving I was having. Anyways, I turn into the aisle and this really cute guy is in it. I made eye contact. He smiled, I smiled back. I had the straight lipped smile. You know the one you give someone when you are acknowledging them but are also not interested in actually saying hello or chatting with them? Well, here is the thing. I live in a smaller community, a fishing village. It is smaller, but not so small that it only has one stop light. People are friendly here, super friendly! I lived in Vancouver prior to moving here and although people are very friendly there too, it does not compare to here. The town I live in currently is the one I spent my first six years of life in. Then we moved to a bunch of cities, did a full circle and came back. Here, everyone says hello. You walk past something and you acknowledge them. I love it, but not in this particular moment. You see, I’m shy when it comes to meeting new people…especially new people of the opposite sex that are super cute like this fellow. If I am attracted to someone, it becomes really obvious because I turn red. Although it doesn’t have the same effect on my face because I’m tan, you can totally tell. This guy started talking to me about chips. All I wanted to do was get my 2 for $7 chips and go and all he wanted to do was chat me up. So after discussing different types of chips for what seemed like five minutes (I’m sure it wasn’t more than like 30 seconds), he mentioned that he’d never seen me in town before. Now, although the town I live in isn’t super small, the majority of people living here are seniors. Also, the majority of people here are Caucasian. I guess it’s easy to spot an Indian newbie (or returnee) like me. I mentioned that I lived here till I was six and now just came back to live here about eight months ago. He asked where I had moved to in the town and I told him my damn street.My street is a really long one and one of the main streets in the town. You have to exit onto my street when you enter the town from the North, but still! Who the heck tells someone their damn street?! I could of just used a direction or said “close to ________.” I have no idea why I told him this. If someone I don’t know asks me weird questions like this, I usually just shut them down or say I have to go. But, I didn’t do that. I told him straight up. So, after I felt like I had shared way  too much, I smiled, said it was nice to meet him and turned around to walk away. He then asked me for my number! And guess what? I gave it to him! Just like that. A total stranger has my number….and said he would call me. Not even text…but old school call me……  I surprised myself. Completely surprised myself. The only thing that wasn’t surprising was the color of my face during this incident. I am more than 100% that I was red the entire time.I have no idea where/if this will go. He said his favourite type of chip was Doritos. If he wasn’t so confident, that would have been a deal breaker off the bat.

So today I stepped out of my comfort zone. Accidentally.

Do you often step out of your comfort zone? Have any of you had awkward situations like this when doing so? I’d love to hear I am not the only one!

15 thoughts on “Today, I Took A Step Outside My Comfort Zone.

  1. This is interesting. I feel like what we view as out of character might be a turn in our journey to self discovery. Sometimes going with the flow helps us to know more about ourselves. I hope this goes well for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s always difficult stepping out of your comfort zone. I did it and ended up marrying the guy. 🙂 Although not every situation ends up like that we should still exercise caution and safety. Have a great time and be safe.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Wow, three times so far that is good news. He must be doing something right. I’m very happy for you. I know it is still early but enjoy yourself but have your head on and be observant. Some guys can masks their issues better than others. Have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

