Uncategorized

A Job, Finally!

7

You guys! I finally got a job!

So after almost 8 months of being unemployed, searching for jobs, applying and then getting rejected or getting unreasonable offers, I am going to be employed!! And best of all, it is for a great organization!!

I am very excited about this opportunity because it is allowing me to go back into working for a non-profit organization, which is where most of experience and passion lies. This organization I will be working for focuses on cancer patients, providing information and resources, educating people about cancer and raising money for cancer research.

One of the most amazing things is that this organization is the only charity that provides funding for every type of cancer. This includes Ovarian Cancer, which is a cause very near and dear to my heart. Last September, my dad’s sister passed away from stage 3c cancer and it was one of the toughest times for my family. My aunt was like a second mother to me. She had a great personality and always called it like it was. Something I admired about her. Ovarian Cancer is an extremely underfunded cancer when it comes to research and the government funding is very low compared to funding for other cancers such as Breast Cancer or Prostate Cancer. I am so so excited to be working for an organization that provides funding and research for all cancers.

I start my job on Monday (so soon, I know!) and am thrilled to begin working hard and making a difference!!

I want to take a second to thank everyone who had to deal with how annoying and down I have been the past couple of months, including my fellow bloggers that had to read my rants. 🙂

21 thoughts on “A Job, Finally!

    1. Hahaa aww thanks. Even though,
      It’s only been a couple of months, blogging has really helped me express my feelings and hear how other people feel on certain topics and what their advice is.
      It’s lovely!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations. Its a good thing you got employment doing what’s dear to you. I’m sorry for the loss of your aunt, they’re like assistant moms if you ask me. I wish you the best

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats!!! I never realized how many people are being affected by cancer until I worked in the cancer unit at the hospital one day. Good for you for taking that step to possibly save several lives!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on the job! And for such a great cause. Which treatments are your organization working towards funding? As a cancer researcher myself, I love reading/blogging about the newest treatments on the rise and being funded.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I actually don’t work for them, unfortunately the job didn’t work out. I’m working at a post secondary institution now. I do volunteer on the Walk of Hope committee at Ovarian Cancer Canada and have been doing so for 2 plus years. My aunt was diagnosed with stage 3c Ovarian Cancer in 2015 and passed away away last September. Such a devastating disease. More information about treatments and current research can be found here: http://www.ovariancanada.org/research/research-programs

      Like

Leave a Reply

