Uncategorized

Separation Anxiety and My Dog!

IMG_9437
Throwback to my University graduation. This is how I was greeted when I came home. AHHHH, I mean SERIOUSLY. How can I not be obsessed with him???????

I bet that by the title, you probably think I am writing about how my dog has separation anxiety… Nope. The opposite actually.

I am starting work tomorrow and am already feeling separation anxiety from Arko! This is so sad and a bit embarrassing but I am really going to miss the bugger. I have always been obsessed with him, but these past 8 months of being unemployed, I have become even more attached and obsessed with my little baby! Ok, he is not so little, he is almost as tall me in full length and weighs close to a 100 lbs, but still! He is little to me.

But seriously though, I am thinking about he is going to be sad and how I will only see him in the mornings and then when I come back from work at 5pm. Some days, I probably won’t be home in time for our walks, so my brother will just take him without me. I know this sounds super lame, but since we have had Arko, that has been one thing I have always held importance in; walking him. I have always tried to have a schedule for school and work that would fit so that I would be home in time for our late afternoon walk.

This is real life though Sandeep! Wake up! Everyone works and has dogs and has to maintain their work-life balance! I know, I know. The OCD in me just worries about things like this. If I ever have children, I hope I am not any more crazy than I am now with Arko, becasue I probably wouldn’t be able to deal with it.

Something that has heightened my separation anxiety is watching this show called โ€œDownward Dogโ€ on ABC. It is the cutest show about a dog named Martin and his owner Nan. Martin narrates the show and he is hilarious. I mean, if a dog could talk, this is what I totally think they would say and think! Anyways, Martin is obsessed with Nan and thinks very highly of her. He hates being at home alone and feels like Nan abandons him too much because she is busy with relationships and her work. It is a great show, if you are a dog lover or even if you aren’t, I would highly recommend it.

The thing is though, Arko won’t even be alone. My brother is off for the Summer, so he is home everyday. He will be going to school in September, but his schedule is super flexible, so Arko won’t even be alone for more than 3-4 hours (which still feels like SO long to me). Also, my mom is off on Mondays and Tuesdays, so Arko will have two people at home all the time for 4 days out of the week ( Saturday and Sunday, I will be off and Sunday, my dad is off too). I know I am sounding crazy, but I just miss him too easily. I worry about him constantly. When he doesn’t eat lunch, when he scratches too much, when he starts limping because of his angular leg deformity.. the list goes on and on.

Anyways, I am sure it will just be the beginning and once a routine has been been made, I will be fine. I know Arko does miss me, but not nearly enough as how much I miss him so easily. I just had to share what I was feeling.

Does anyone feel this way too? Am I the only one that worries and obsesses over my dog  like this?

-Sunny (Sandeep)

10 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety and My Dog!

    1. Aw thanks, this makes me feel better. He was ok today, totally fine but SUPER excited to see me when I came home. I think it’s just a matter of getting use to this schedule and making the most of the weekends!

      Like

  1. I feel the same way when I have to leave my dog Burger! It breaks my heart to leave him for any length of time. We have had him for just over a year (after me swearing we would never get a dog!) I cannot imagine life without him now. Dogs are the greatest, aren’t they?

    Arko looks like such a sweet loving pup! You are lucky to have him ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Burger was his name when we got him at the SPCA! We have since spoken to the original owners who rescued him and they said it was the only name he responded to. Isn’t that hilarious? Coincidently, he LOVES burgers ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

      2. LOL omg I love it!!! ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ” I mean, why change it then, right?? Arko loves burgers too! Whenever we go to McDonald’s, he can smell the bag and gets so excited because he knows he will be getting one too! It is the best feeling to see your
        Dog excited!!!! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

        Liked by 1 person

    1. 27-7! Wait, you mean you get 3 extra hours with your dog! Whattt!!? I want that too!!!!! Hehehehe.

      That is so awesome, I would totally keep Arko with me everywhere I went if I could. Hahaha, it’s hard not to be a sucker when it comes to our beautiful boys! โค๏ธ๐Ÿพ๐Ÿ˜

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I definitely feel separation anxiety when I have to leave my dogs. I have a vacation coming up and I worry about them. A couple of my dogs get very depressed when we leave. The pet sitter said one of our dogs refused to eat and once another on pulled most of the hair off his own tail. I just have to trust the pet sitter and know they will be okay. Just remember how happy your dog will be when you get home from a day at work! That is the best welcome home!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ya!!! I’m glad you can relate (well, not actually glad, but you know what I mean) it is so hard to be away from them because they become so dependent on you and you on them! Atleast you have a pet sitter and they aren’t in kennels, that could be worse because they aren’t looked after 24/7. Plus, if you have a dog sitter come and stay at your house, that is even better because they aren’t changing environments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

