Uncategorized

Earliest Childhood Memory

measababy

When I asked my parents to describe me as a child, they said I was chubby, angry, and hungry all the time. I loved that sum up. 🙂 I was thinking of what to write for my next blog post, and I thought about my childhood and how far back I could go.

My earliest childhood memory that comes to mind, although vague, was when I was about 3 years old. We still lived in a small basement in South Delta and I remember sitting on this printed fabric sofa eating mangoes. I remember that sofa to the tee because we kept it for so long. It was brown and beige and had these weird orange cottage shapes. I was making a huge mess eating mangoes and didn’t care. I was a toddler, what did I know about messes? It is a vague memory and I don’t think anything eventful really happened. I remember digging my hands into the cut up mangoes and then sucking on the pit afterwards. I think my cousin was there too as we lived in their basement back then, and we grew up together until age 6 when my family moved out to a house in another suburb of Vancouver.

I wonder though, do you think that our childhood memories are always real or we partly make them up? Or perhaps they are molded based on how our parents tell us the story or certain pictures we have. Whenever I look at my childhood photos, (and boy did my mom create some albums), most of the memories feel like they are in my head and I can actually go back. But then I think to myself, “maybe I just think I remember this and it is just a play off of these pictures and stuff that I have made up.” For example, when I was 3 or 4, my parents took me to India for the first time. My parents always tell me about the time when I started cleaning (hmmmmm..maybe that is where my OCD began…LOL) the floor of our house in the village. My grandma came back from the temple and I told her to come around the other way because I had just cleaned and didn’t want her making a mess with her shoes. I mean…what 4 year old says that? I always feel like I can remember when that happened, but can I really? Maybe my parents have just told me this story so many times that it is ingrained in my brain and I have built this fake memory. I feel like it might be the case with a lot of our childhood memories. That, and perhaps us making things up based off of what we think happened, not what actually happened. I may be thinking way too deeply into this, but it is so interesting to me.

What is your earliest childhood memory? Do you think that some of your childhood memories are really just an accumulation of photos, stories told my your parents and made up scenarios made up by you? Please do share, I would love to hear about your childhood memories and what you think about my post!

8 thoughts on “Earliest Childhood Memory

  1. My childhood didn’t really have photos actually. But I remember them well. Maybe it’s because school was never fun to me, or because I loved making my elder brother cry; then it was just the two of us. Or maybe because it was just eventful enough that even without pictures, I still remember them. But some of those childhood memories are actually things out parents told us and some if not all are tru. Like, my lil sister used to call slippers, “Prippers” when she was small and it was so cute. Hol’ up✋You just gave me a ‘next post’ to work on.😊

    Like

    1. Hahaha that is awesome! You use to like to make your brother cry, I was the same, but for me it was my cousins! I would always start fights.

      Eh, glad this gave you a post idea. I look forward to reading it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My childhood was very interesting mostly because I traveled a lot with my family. I can only remember as far back as four and even those memories are muddled. I was pretty quiet as a child (not anymore though) so I mostly remember my brothers always playing or teasing me. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels like I make up some childhood memories in my head based on what my brothers and parents told me.

    Like

    1. Glad to know I’m not the only one that thinks I made stuff up! I was also a quiet kid too, except when I got angry hahah. So cool that you travelled a lot when you were young, what were some of the places you visited?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Whoa! That is awesome. I don’t travel much. When I was younger, I visited India and England but that was when I was 3 and 5. Recently, I have only been to places in Canada and USA.

        Must be cool to travel to so many different places and like the cultures, see the sights and the food! The food must be the best part!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Really cool. And yes, the food is the best part because I’m a foodie. I try to make the best out of my experiences and I feel privileged to have the opportunity to see the world from different perspectives. I feel like the world is a book and traveling is like opening the pages of the book. I always wanted to go to London though

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

