recipe

A Cup of Cha, Anyone?

cha

My parents are from Northern India, so I have grown up being quite particular about what makes a good cup of cha (or chai).  My friends are always asking how a good cup of cha is made, so here you go! I am passing on the deliciousness! No matter how fancy or popular the coffee/tea shop, nothing compares to a good old homemade cup of cha. Let me know what you think when you make a cup! I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Ingredients:

1 small pot
1 tea strainer
1 cup
¾ cup of water
1 green cardamom, crushed
½ black cardamom, crushed
½ teaspoon of fennel
1  clove
¼ of a small cinnamon stick (optional)
1 orange pekoe tea bag (I prefer Tetley)
½ cup of milk (I use 1%)
Sugar to taste (optional)

Directions:

Put water, green cardamom, black cardamom, fennel, clove, and cinnamon stick in a small pot. On high heat, bring to a boil on the stovetop. Add tea bag. Boil for at least 2 more minutes. Add milk. Bring tea to a boil. (Make sure you watch the tea or it will boil outside the pot quickly and make a huge mess!). Pour tea into cup with a tea strainer on top of cup to ensure all of the tea spices and teabag do not go into your cup. Add sugar if you would like. Enjoy!

Tip: I blend all of my tea spices in a coffee grinder and put it into a mason jar, so when the time comes to make tea, all I have to do is take a teaspoon and add it to the pot.

 

Leave a Reply

